Finding Time With Two

I’ll be the first to admit, I’m an ef-ing lazy mom… More so now that I have a baby to take care of on top of chasing my preschooler around. We used to do “school” everyday in workbooks, practice letters, counting, and all that. Since I had the baby I’ve not been the best parent. Can I blame it as an elongated “Summer Vacation”?

Today we made paper snowflakes and construction paper chain garland for the window to mark the time for fall and winter decorating. Pretty soon it will be time to pull out the Christmas lights and really get to it. Until then, I’m wondering where all of my Thanksgiving decorations went to, since they’re apparently not in the Halloween box anymore.
It was really nice, gave S something to do besides completely ransacking the entire house, and me something to do besides watch TV when not feeding the baby. And our window looks pretty snazzy. I soooo hate boring empty windows when there’s something to decorate for. Classic gaudy American Holiday decorating. 😉 Love it.

Anyhow, I’ve been lazy with the projects since the baby was born, and I think it’s about time that I got around to not being a bum. I looked around on Pinterest for ideas, and was reminded of all the things I got to do when I was little, paper plate turkeys, balloon string ornaments, melted crayon stained glass… easy stuff that you do with stuff that doesn’t cost anything. So to my husband’s horror (when he discovers my plan), I’m putting a bunch of craft stuff that we would normally have (but are currently out of because we’re poor) on a shopping list, and we’re going shopping tomorrow after he gets off of work! Next week will be the start of our “school year” now that I’m pretty much motivated to get things popping. In a few weeks it will be either even more fun or a complete nightmare, having a 4 year-old “help” with Thanksgiving dinner preparations.

(And I just saw a recent photo of myself: Lets just say it’s going to be a helluva HEALTHY Thanksgiving this year. Everyone is going to hate me. Hahahaha… Heh…yeeah)

Leave a Reply

