Z is 3 Months!

Three months ago today I had my beautiful baby girl Z.
In my bedroom, on the floor, in front of the closet, at the foot of my bed.
Alone.
(Well, with my hubby and sleeping 4 year old)
It was empowering to say the least.

Still Attached

Still Attached

If I had known I was “allowed” to follow my instincts and dreams when I had S, I would have had him at home unassisted as well. However, back then I thought that you weren’t allowed to have babies naturally anymore, that the closest you were allowed to get to a natural childbirth was to have a midwife present. So glad I found like-minded people, books, websites, and information regarding the laws on homebirth. All of these things allowed me to be confident in my choice and the legality of it.
Unassisted Childbirth is legal in al 50 states, whereas childbirth with a “midwife” (I use quotes because usually the licensed ones are MEDwives) is only legal in I think it was about 20 states? It’s been a while since I was researching for my birth, all I needed to know was that no one had the right to go after me and I was like, “ALRIGHT M-F-ER LETS HAVE THIS BABY!”

One Month 7 Days

One Month 7 Days

Even my mom, who was paranoid and kept reminding me how to dial the phone for an ambulance, just in case, was all, “Oh honey,” (annoying mom voice), “I’m so proud of you! You’re so strong!”
My dad on the other hand had reacted opposite of what I expected of him as well and was begging me to see a doctor.
“My sister,” He started before I cut him off.
“Your sister was killed by doctors when she had her kid, I would expect you to be behind me more than anybody else. You know, since you warned me about going to have my first baby in a hospital last time and all…” *eye-roll*
“Yeah I know, you’re right. I just worry about you.”

2 Months

2 Months

I absolutely love my parents. Even my mom, whom I never got along with until these past few years. Now we’re all buddy-buddy! They taught me to be strong and do what feels right for me. Also, I’m pretty sure all of my stubbornness comes from both of them, since they’re like oxen.

My beautiful little girl is now three months old and I don’t know where the time has gone. She’s grown so much already, she’s so smiley and giggly, strong, loud, and full of personality. She’s going to be an amazing gorgeous, strong woman someday, and I hate that it’s going to seem like tomorrow when it finally happens in the next 20 years.

3 Months
My Happy Girl!

Leave a Reply

